Skip to content
LabVerdict

Guide · At-Home STD Testing

The Best At-Home STD Testing Options of 2026, Compared

DisclosureWe may earn a commission from affiliate links on this page, at no extra cost to you — it never sets a verdict. How we make money

LabScored EditorialEditorial Team

Updated Sep 15, 2026 · first published Aug 22, 2026 · 6 min read

Lab-visit services, mail-in kits, and broad lab menus all sell STD testing — but panels, turnaround, and privacy practices differ more than the marketing suggests. Here is the field, compared on one sheet.

The Best At-Home STD Testing Options of 2026, Compared

Informational onlyThis article is informational content, not medical advice. Screening is not diagnosis — for testing decisions, symptoms, or results, consult a licensed healthcare provider.

At-home STD testing services, on the published numbers

Compared on published information — panels, pricing, turnaround, and privacy are each service's own stated figures, not a quote.

  • STDCheck

    Top pick

    Wins on Price range · Turnaround

    Tests covered
    10-Test Panel: HIV-1/2 (4th-gen), HSV-1/2, hep A/B/C, chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis; 13-Test Panel available
    Price range
    $24-$259 published; flagship panel $139
    Turnaround
    1-2 days after lab visit (stated)
    Sample type
    Blood + urine at 4,500+ stated centers
    Privacy
    Nothing ships; cash-pay; states results not reported to insurance
  • Personalabs

    Tests covered
    STD panels inside a stated 400+ test direct-order menu
    Price range
    From ~$49/test as published
    Turnaround
    24-48 hours for many tests (stated)
    Sample type
    Professional draw at 4,000+ stated locations
    Privacy
    Cash-pay; portal results; nothing ships
  • myLAB Box

    Tests covered
    Uber Box 8-panel; Total Box 14-panel
    Price range
    $209 / $379-409 as published
    Turnaround
    1-5 days after lab receipt (stated), plus mail both ways
    Sample type
    Self-collected swab/urine/finger-prick at home
    Privacy
    Unmarked packaging; never visit a facility; stated CLIA/CAP labs
  • Everlywell

    Tests covered
    6-infection STD kit; chlamydia & gonorrhea kit
    Price range
    $169 / $69 as published
    Turnaround
    Varies by test
    Sample type
    Finger-prick and swab at home, app-guided
    Privacy
    Discreet shipping; portal results

All prices and turnaround figures are the services' own published claims at the time of writing — not our measurements. Overall reflects panel-per-dollar and elapsed-time structure for readers who can make a lab visit; if never leaving home decides it, the mail-in rows are the honest comparison.

Straight disclosure —some links on this page are affiliate links. We may earn a commission when you buy a test or book a visit through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict. LabScored is an independent publisher, not a healthcare provider or a laboratory — nothing here is medical advice. For medical questions, consult a licensed healthcare provider.

Searching for STD testing brings up a wall of near-identical promises: fast, private, trusted. What actually differs between the services is concrete and comparable — which infections a panel covers, whether you visit a lab or swab at home, how fast results post, and what the privacy policy says. This comparison lays those differences out from each service's published information. It is informational only: whether and when to test is a conversation for a healthcare provider, and the CDC's Getting Tested pages and screening recommendations are the primary public references on screening.

The two models, in one minute

Lab-visit services (STDCheck, Personalabs) let you order online, then walk into a national lab location for a professional draw or sample collection. No kit ships to your home, collection quality is professional, and stated turnarounds are short — often one to two business days after the visit.

Mail-in kits (myLAB Box, Everlywell, and similar) ship a discreet self-collection kit to your door. You collect a finger-prick, urine, or swab sample and mail it back. Nobody sees you at a lab, but shipping adds days on both ends and collection quality depends on you following the instructions.

Both models process samples in CLIA-certified laboratories — the same federal certification class behind clinic testing, administered by CMS. The choice is mostly about which experience you will actually complete — the model trade-offs, itemized.

The field, compared

ServiceModelPublished pricing*Stated turnaroundNotable
STDCheckLab visitTests $24–$129; 10-Test Panel $139; 13-Test $2591–2 days after visitSTD-only focus; 4,500+ stated centers; consult on certain positives
PersonalabsLab visitFrom ~$49/test across a 400+ test menu24–48 hrs for many tests (stated)STD panels plus general blood work in one order; 4,000+ stated locations
myLAB BoxMail-inUber Box 8-panel $209; Total Box 14-panel $379–4091–5 days after lab receiptFully at home; unmarked packaging; stated free consult on positives
EverlywellMail-inSTD kit (6 infections) $169; Chlamydia & Gonorrhea $69Varies by testBig consumer brand; app-guided collection

*Published prices are snapshots at the time of writing and change; the live number is always on the service's site. Cost-per-infection math at the flagship tier: STDCheck ~$14, myLAB Box ~$26, Everlywell ~$28 — the full price guide runs the whole category.

STDCheck — the dedicated STD lane

STDCheck does one thing: STD testing through a network the company states at more than 4,500 U.S. lab locations. The flagship 10-Test Panel ($139 as published) itemizes, per the service's own panel page, to HIV-1 and HIV-2 (4th-generation antibody), herpes types 1 and 2, hepatitis A, B, and C, chlamydia and gonorrhea (urine), and syphilis (RPR) — a small blood draw plus a urine cup in one visit. Individual tests are published from $24 (hepatitis) to $129 (HIV RNA early detection), and the service states results typically post within one to two business days of the visit. Ordering is cash-pay — the service states results are not reported to insurance, which also means no insurance record — and a physician consultation is available for certain positive results, per its published policy.

Pros: most published panel-per-dollar in the field; shortest stated turnaround (no mail time in either direction); professional collection; structural privacy (nothing ships). Cons: requires the lab visit; STD-only menu; cash-pay only, so well-insured readers may pay less elsewhere. Our full STDCheck review itemizes everything.

Personalabs — STD testing inside a bigger menu

Personalabs is a direct-order lab testing service with a stated 400+ tests on the menu, STD panels included. The draw is consolidation: if you want an STD panel plus general blood work — a metabolic panel, a lipid panel, hormone tests — it goes in one order, with the required physician authorization arranged by the service (approval stated within 2–4 hours) and collection at a stated 4,000+ national lab locations. Pricing is a-la-carte, commonly from around $49 per test, with many results stated at 24–48 hours.

Pros: broadest menu in the comparison; one order for STD plus everything else; professional draw. Cons: a-la-carte carts add up against bundled panels; headline turnaround is qualified in the service's own fine print for complex tests. Full review here.

myLAB Box — never leave home

myLAB Box is the mail-in counterpoint: kits for individual infections and combination panels — the 8-panel Uber Box at a published $209 and the 14-panel Total Box at $379–409 — self-collected at home and returned by mail, with results stated at 1–5 days after the lab receives the sample. The service emphasizes unmarked discreet packaging, states its labs are CLIA-certified and CAP-accredited, and states free physician consultations are available for positive results.

Pros: never visit a facility; widest panel (14) in the comparison; published discretion practices. Cons: the real elapsed time includes shipping both ways (where turnaround clocks start); self-collection carries a redo risk; higher published cost per infection. The lab-visit vs. mail-in decision, in full.

Everlywell — the consumer-brand kit

Everlywell brings the category's most recognizable consumer brand to STD testing: a 6-infection kit at a published $169 and a chlamydia-and-gonorrhea kit at $69, with app-guided collection and portal results. It is a kit-first company with a broad wellness menu rather than an STD specialist — which is exactly the trade to weigh against the dedicated services above.

What to compare before you choose

Panel contents. A "complete" panel is a marketing word, not a standard. Read the actual infection list against what you want covered — the lists genuinely differ (10 vs. 8 vs. 6 infections at the flagship tier here), and MedlinePlus's STI test pages explain what each test looks for.

Timing. Every infection has a window period — the interval after exposure before a test can reliably detect it. The CDC publishes timing guidance for exactly this reason; testing too early can miss an infection regardless of which service runs the sample. A healthcare provider can apply that guidance to your situation, which is not something any testing website can honestly do.

Lab methods. For common bacterial infections, NAAT-based testing is the modern laboratory standard referenced in public-health guidance. Services publish their methods; it is worth a look.

Privacy. All four services here deliver results through secure portals and ship or bill discreetly, but the details live in their published privacy policies — and some results, such as certain positive STD results, are reportable to public-health authorities by law no matter where you test. Our privacy comparison and cash-pay records explainer go deeper.

Your state. New York, New Jersey, and Rhode Island regulate direct-to-consumer lab ordering differently than most states — check the service's own availability FAQ before planning around any row of this table.

The verdict frame

For a focused STD test with the shortest path to results, the dedicated lab-visit lane (STDCheck) is where we would start a comparison — most panel per published dollar, fastest stated clock. For STD testing bundled with broader blood work, the wide-menu lane (Personalabs) makes more sense. For readers who will only test if it happens entirely at home, the mail-in lane (myLAB Box, Everlywell) exists for exactly that — priced accordingly. All four are compared live, alongside the rest of the field, on our services table.

One more time, because it belongs in every article like this: a comparison can tell you how services differ. It cannot tell you whether or when to test — that is a clinician's call, informed by CDC guidance and your actual situation. Screening is not diagnosis, and a fast negative is not a medical all-clear.


This article is for informational purposes only. This is not medical advice — consult a healthcare provider about testing decisions and what results mean for you. Some links on this page are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never changes a comparison. LabScored is an independent publisher, not a healthcare provider or laboratory.

Plans & pricing

  • STDCheck — STD Testing (10-Test Panel)

    Order STD testing online and test at one of thousands of U.S. labs — 10-Test Panel available, results typically in 1–2 days to a private portal.

    $24.00Check Price
  • Personalabs — Direct-Order Lab Testing

    Order from hundreds of lab tests online — STD panels plus general blood work — with the physician order included and draws at national labs.

    $49.00Check Price

Straight disclosure —some links on this page are affiliate links. We may earn a commission when you buy a test or book a visit through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict. LabScored is an independent publisher, not a healthcare provider or a laboratory — nothing here is medical advice. For medical questions, consult a licensed healthcare provider.

Sources & references

Medical background in this article draws on the institutional sources below — read them directly rather than taking our summary as the last word.

  1. CDC — Getting Tested for STIscdc.gov
  2. CDC — STI Screening Recommendationscdc.gov
  3. CDC — Getting Tested for HIVcdc.gov
  4. CDC — Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA)cdc.gov
  5. CMS — Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA)cms.gov
  6. MedlinePlus — Sexually Transmitted Infection (STI) Testsmedlineplus.gov
  7. MedlinePlus — Chlamydia Testmedlineplus.gov
  8. MedlinePlus — Gonorrhea Testmedlineplus.gov
  9. MedlinePlus — Syphilis Testsmedlineplus.gov
  10. MedlinePlus — HIV Screening Testmedlineplus.gov
  11. MedlinePlus — Hepatitis Testingmedlineplus.gov
  12. MedlinePlus — Herpes (HSV) Testmedlineplus.gov

24 guides published

10 services tracked

488 reader click-throughs